03 Oct What Can Celiacs Eat?
What can Celiacs eat?
What is gluten?
Gluten is a type of protein that is found in barley, wheat and rye. Glaidin, a component of gluten, is the main cause of celiac disease. One needs to understand that although avoiding wheat in one’s diet is important, it is not going to completely cut off gluten in your diet. This is because gluten is found in ALL of the products made from wheat, barley, and rye. Soy sauce is a big one where people don’t expect to find gluten. More on that later.
The most effective way to stay away from gluten is to be well-informed—do your research well! If you’re afflicted with celiac disease or are allergic to gluten, knowing what types of food are safe and unsafe to eat can help you in greatly improving your health. Doing an online search is a good way to start. There are a great number of websites that provide helpful information on gluten-free diets and food. There are also websites that provide detailed information on celiac disease as well as its symptoms.
Don’t get discouraged!
The disorder shouldn’t discourage anyone from limiting the intake of their favorite foods. The important thing is to avoid food with ingredients that contain gluten, in order to enjoy life. There’s no reason why you can’t prepare your favorite food or usual recipes as long as you take extra caution with the ingredients you use.
If you’re fond of adding sauces on your food, be sure to use gluten-free flour instead of wheat flour. Soy sauce as well as many ready-made sauces in packs, broth cubes, and soups should definitely be avoided at all cost. You can use salt, pepper, herbs and spices, tamari, yeast and even vinegar to season your food.
Don’t forget to include fresh fruits and vegetables in your daily diet. They are nutrient-rich and they can help keep your body strong and healthy. If you want, you can stick to an unprocessed food type diet if you want to be on the safe side of things. By eating an unprocessed food diet, you will pretty much be eating gluten free as wheat, barley, and rye have to be processed in order to be consumed.
A daily dose of protein is also important in your diet.Protein can be found in fish, meat, poultry, seafood, eggs and dairy products. They can also be found in nuts and seeds, soy products as well as cereals that are gluten-free. Protein is very important especially for children’s growth. However, it is important to consult with a dietician or an expert first regarding what kind of food is best for children with celiac disease.
What about gluten free treats?
If you are going to make gluten free treats like cakes, pastries and cereals; you can use corn, tapioca, buckwheat, rice, custard and arrowroot as substitute for wheat. You can also use other grains such as lupine, quinoa, millet, sorghum and montina since they are considered suitable for a gluten-free diet. If you want to satisfy your sweet tooth, you can use marmalade, jam, sugar, molasses, honey, golden syrup and some chocolate brands.
Do you know that you can still enjoy your favorite alcoholic drinks with your meals? That’s right, wine, gin and whiskey are alright but be sure to avoid most ales and beer.
Keep in mind that eating the right kind of food is the best solution for improving your health. By following a gluten-free diet, you will have a huge chance of lowering the risk of complications that are normally associated with Celiac Disease.
For help learning and adhering to a gluten free diet go HERE.
“Be Happy…Be Healthy…Be Fit!”
– Natalie Jill
Do you want to learn more? Check out all of my programs HERE.